Vincent van Gogh’s “A Pair of Shoes”:

Van Gogh a pair of shoes

After seeing, Vincent van Gogh’s “A Pair of Shoes” it reminded me of a childhood memory (I’m a guy in this blog post FYI).”I worked for weeks to afford these shoes” my mother told me. She bought them for my father, who had none at the time. He always worked so that we could have shoes on our feet, but never bought things for himself. The morning she gave it to him there were tears in his eyes. I had never seen such selflessness nor unconditional love. She gave them to him many years ago, he completely wore them out, still wears them, and they are his proudest possession. Our family works hard for luxury items, and these shoes were no different. They were his first pair. He works and slaves long hours in order to provide for us. We might not be the wealthiest, but we are proud of what we do. These shoes represent so much more to our entire family than just covering for my fathers feet; it is a symbol of our sacrifices, our blood, sweat, and tears to get where we are today. Yes, we are poor. But we eat well, and have unconditional love. Some day these shoes will be mine, and I will wear them proudly. My father has been a role model for me, I hope to become an apprentice to him and one day learn the skills that he has perfected. Through these shoes, he has shown me what it means to work hard and dedicate my life to my family. If the only present I ever receive is a pair of shoes that I have been lusting over, I would never take them off until it is time to give them to my son. They may be worn, they may have holes, but they mean so much more to my father and to me than just a beat up piece of leather. They mean dedication, hours of hard work, love, and happiness. These shoes are a proud symbol of my entire family and how far we have come. No matter what, my family sticks together and supports one another.

Leave a comment